The Right Business Partner Can Make all the Difference

The Right Business Partner Can Make all the Difference

NJ Pesci: Former CHRO Scripps Networks Interactive

I started my career at Procter and Gamble in manufacturing. With a master’s degree in Organizational Behavior, I was an anomaly, trying to find my way in a very unfamiliar place. For many years I worked as a line supervisor, making, packing, and shipping bar soap.

Eventually I got my big break to go downtown and have my first corporate job supporting one of the functions for Procter and Gamble. It was a global role, and I would be working with two divisions inside this one function. I was excited to take the role as they had offices in England, Belgium, and Japan and it was also a promotion for me.

One of the most important things for a +1 HR business leader to be successful is to have a great business partner. The person you work with in the function, or the business is critical to your success. You can certainly help people who don't have an understanding or vision for HR, but it takes a lot more time and effort.

When I got downtown, I found myself working for two wonderful men that ran these two divisions. Both men were interested in creating high performance organizations, trying to transform their stodgy traditional groups into something more dynamic. With their support we did some good work, including introducing them to the concept, and eventually the creation, of a global competency model for both divisions. We worked on succession planning, talent development, and diversity and inclusion to name a few things. Partnering with these two leaders made me feel like I could contribute to the overall success of the organization as an HR manager.

It was my first real HR job and I loved it; it was awesome. I was unprepared for what happened next.

One of the two division leaders resigned and returned to Europe. The other division leader was pulled out of the function to support a fast-growing business unit. I was left behind and was going to now have work with two new division leaders. I knew one of the division leaders and had worked with the overall function leader to put him in his new role. However, I had never met the other division leader. He was the more senior of the two and aspired to run the entire function one day.

I was excited for my first meeting with the senior division leader. When I sat down to meet with him, I had my notebook with me ready to share all that we had done for the past few years and see what his take would be on what we do next.

He put his feet up on the desk, leaned back in his chair and said to me, looking up at the ceiling, “young man, you're going to have to have those ceiling tiles replaced for me.” And then he pointed down to the ground and said, “this carpet needs to be cleaned and should have been cleaned before I took over this office. And finally, the men's room looks terrible. I expected it to look better by the end of next week.”

Can you change my ceiling tiles, clean my carpet, and fix the appearance of the men’s room? Those were the first three orders that he gave me as his HR business partner. I left that office upset, and angry. I was extremely disappointed, and there was no way on this green earth, that I would ever do those three things for him. The new senior division leader’s style, approach and expectations for HR were in stark contrast to the men that I spent the past few years working with. I had experienced what it was like to work with good business leaders that had treated me like a partner, and I wasn't about to go backwards.

I called my previous line leader and told him what his replacement had said to me. Then I told him that I wasn’t going to do any of those things he had asked, I was going to say no! My old-line boss told me to calm down and breath and that I was going to have to do those things to begin my relationship with my new line boss. Saying no would mean that he would never have the chance to see the important things I could help him with in the future.

He said, “If you don't do these three things, he's going to think that you’re not there to help him. He doesn't know yet what you can do for him. Unless you do these things for him now, you'll never be able to show him the impactful things you can do in the future. So, knock those three things out, and then go and show him what you can really do.”

It was wonderful advice, not what I wanted to hear at the time, but wonderful advice. I did those three things. Unfortunately, I never got a chance to show the new leader what I could really do to help him. A few months after he started, I was pulled into another business unit so I could have my first “commercial” experience with the company. But seeing the contrast in leadership and expectations for HR stayed with me throughout my entire HR career and helped me become a +1 HR Leader

A couple of points to keep in mind if you're going to be a +1HR leader:

  1. You rarely get to pick your business leader. Be ready to work with anyone.

  2. Meet them where they are and help them see the power and importance of +1 HR leadership.

  3. Understand their needs and help them with their issues first.

  4. Listen, listen, listen. They will tell you how you can help them if you listen for it.

  5. Develop a communication rhythm with your business leader in order build a solid working relationship

Thank You

Thank you for joining us this week. If you enjoyed this read please share with your HR friends and feel free to reply to this email with any comments or feedback!

u